• Welcome
  • Chamber Music to mark the Easter Rising

Chamber Music to mark the Easter Rising

  • 09 Jul 2016
  • 11:00 AM
  • Lichfield, Lichfield S.Michael, Church Street, Lichfield WS13 6SN

Sarah-Jane Bradley viola
Kathryn Thomas flute
Lucy Wakeford harp

The musicians of Sound Collective look to the Irish Easter Rising in this programme of music for flute, viola and harp. Debussy's magical Trio Sonata from 1916 will be heard alongside Arnold Bax's Elegiac Trio from the same year. Irish tributes come from Hamilton Harty, Hilary Tan's celtic-influenced Song of Amergin and traditional Irish tunes such as Danny Boy and Down by the Salley Gardens. Irish composer Alan Mills has written a poetic new work for the occasion: Autumnal Variation, based on an old Irish harp melody collected by his ancestor Edward Bunting in 1792.



Copyright © UKHA 2020 Email: admin@ukharp.net

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software